1 Corinthians 13

protective

I didn’t realize how protective love could be until yesterday. Not once, but twice I managed to fall off the bed and hit the floor with a loud smack, and land on the same knee. Both times, I held my knee (which is sure to be battered and bruised for the next few weeks) and tried to calm myself, just focusing on breathing and not crying.

Both times, I felt big arms wrap around my body, and lips kiss my head. He asked me what hurt, looked at my knees and hands, but I just repeated “I’m okay. I promise. I’m fine.” I wanted to brush him off, because I was taught that when you get hurt, you stand up and shake it off. With him, I can be hurt, and he will be with me, and help me. He cleaned my scrapes, put a band-aid on it, and held me for a few more moments.  He held me and told me, “I’m just protective, because you are so precious to me. I love you.” And once again, the man that I love leaves me speechless.

1 Corinthians describes love as something that “always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres” (1 Corinthians 13:7). Throughout our time together, he has shown me all of these qualities. The most meaningful of all of these qualities to me is perseverance. With graduation only a year away, we might be heading different places. I’m looking at law schools, but he’s looking at architecture firms.

It’s silly but I found hope in a fortune cookie. When we are visiting his hometown, we join his parents for their Sunday afternoon tradition: lunch at a Chinese buffet. We spent a few hours drinking tea and eating egg rolls and rice. I got to hear embarrassing stories from his childhood. I got to meet his grandmother. I got to see the interactions in his sweet small town. We were ready to go, and got fortune cookies with the bill. My fortune (which wasn’t really a fortune but okay) read “Anything possible if you’re committed.” I looked at him and smiled, because I know that we are committed to each other, and that we can work through anything. We persevered through the first few years of college, and all the curves it threw us. We persevered through rocky friendships, hard classes, and midterm and finals week stresses. Honestly, we can do anything together.

 

 

Leave a Reply

