1 Corinthians 13

patience

Love is patient, but patience has never been my strongest quality. I can remember my mom telling a story about my 7th birthday. My family was at King’s Dominion to celebrate my birthday, and we had been waiting in line for a ride. My sister and I made it to the front of the line, and we were going to be the first ones to pick our seats. Even though I was in the front, I think something about waiting in a line had made me impatient. When the gate opened and it was our turn to pick seats, I sprinted to seat number 13 (even though all of the seats looked exactly the same). I fell and scraped my knee, but I simply jumped back up and claimed my prize.

In the 14 years since that birthday, I’ve learned to be more patient when I wait in line. I know how to wait my turn. I know not to sprint across the street until the crosswalk shows the walk sign (unless its extra cold outside). But have I truly learned patience? I’ve struggled in college with patience. Day to day patience seems manageable, but the real task is being patient while I wait for the future.

Being patient is hard when it comes to school. Only 5 weeks stand between me and my summer. This coming fall I’ll be a senior and I’ll only need a few more classes to finish my degree. Graduation is a mere 12 months away. I expected the anticipation and excitement of being in the “real world”, but I didn’t realize how impatient I would be. The future holds a lot of opportunities; I’m swimming in law school pamphlets, internship emails, and job applications. The unknown feels overwhelming, but I couldn’t be more excited to dive in to the business world and find my place in this big world.

In my impatience I go back to Psalm 27:14, which says, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” My first reaction to times of impatience and frustration is to be strong. I always think I can power through my situation by being strong and faking it until I make it. What really pulls at my heart are the words “wait for the Lord”. That phrase should be what reassures me most. When I fully comprehend and acknowledge that God is greater than I will ever be, I can place my burdens on Him. I can surrender both the excitement and the pressure of the future, and focus on the present.

 

Leave a Reply

