Uncategorized

simplicity

For the longest time, I avoided simplicity; it seemed negative to me. To be simple was to be  boring and incomplete, it was not be trying hard enough, it wasn’t good enough. After too many years of pushing myself to unattainable perfection and being excessively elaborate, I can now understand and appreciate the beauty of simplicity.

With Valentine’s Day drawing near, chocolate is on display and giant teddy bears and heart shaped balloons fill the stores. heart. shaped. everything. To me, love doesn’t come in heart shaped boxes of sweets, red roses, or an elaborate evening date. Love is found in the simple things. Love is knowing his coffee order, and getting it for him before an early class. Love is cherishing a quick half hour of studying together. For us, it’s as simple as that.

Academics was never a place I wanted to be “simple”. Simple, I thought, was bad and school deserved my best work. Papers became elaborate works of art, and were littered with my SAT vocabulary words. I quickly learned that filling a text with four-syllable words did not necessarily strengthen my argument. Stripping away the pretentious vocabulary words left me to face my thoughts and arguments in my paper, and prove them with sources instead of fancy words.

My allotment of time has also become more simple. Gone are the days of superficially being involved in ten clubs, three volunteer opportunities, and drowning in other extracurriculars. I’ve found two organizations at Christopher Newport that are significant to me, and I happily invest my time into them. Zeta Tau Alpha has offered me opportunities to grow as a woman, friend, and leader, and I am eternally grateful. Phi Alpha Delta has shown me my passion for the law, and has given me excitement to take on the next stage of my life – law school. By narrowing my involvements, I’ve been able to dive deeper into my passions, create meaningful relationships, and take on leadership roles that have helped me grow.

Simplicity is beautiful, and I’m happy to have it in my life. As Henry David Thoreau said, “Our life is frittered away by detail. Simplify, simplify.”

 

Leave a Reply

