Uncategorized

extroversion

Four years ago I was an introvert, and I didn’t understand it. I would sit by myself during the lunch hour, listening to music and doing homework, because I needed to “recharge” from the social interactions from the morning. I “recharged” again when I got home from school. Talking to people was tiring, I was always emotionally drained, and I just didn’t understand it.

I found the Meyers Briggs test and I took it. I was an INFJ. For N, F, and J, I was just slightly over the line into a specific type. For I, I was 98%. I was a full-blown introvert, and I finally started understanding myself and my needs.

I spent time focusing on myself: staying in instead of going out with friends, listening to music, meditating, and taking up yoga.

When I got to college I joined a sorority. I still don’t understand my logic – what introvert intentionally puts herself through hundreds of women chanting at the top of their lungs,  days of small talk, and the pressures of meeting and joining a sisterhood. I don’t get it, but I’m so grateful I pushed myself through it, because I know that being a ZTA has made me a better leader, friend, and woman.

A few months ago, a friend told me that personality types change, and that I should retake the quiz. At the conclusion of the quiz the letters on the screen read ENFJ, and I was surprised. Me? An extrovert? But the more I thought about it, the more I understood, and saw my personal growth.

Going into recruitment this January, I wasn’t hesitant. I smiled and chanted at the entrance for each round. I linked arms with timid freshmen and eagerly got to know them. I shared my passion for ZTA’s philanthropy, and opened my heart with my favorite memories from this sisterhood. I faced my high school fear of talking to people, and not only did I over come it, but I enjoyed it. After each round of recruitment, I would be bouncing, jumping, dancing, and excitedly talking to other sisters around me.

Evolution and personal growth happen to everyone, but I’ve specifically noticed my increasing extroversion, and my friends have as well. I’m happy to say that the girl I was four years ago – who hated running into people, and hated talking to people – is not who I am anymore. I love people, I love interacting with them, and I love the different relationships I’ve been able to form by being more open.

Leave a Reply

